Saving the Savior

The more I think about it, the less I want to continue. Nevertheless, I think I’ll run out of excuses not to think about it very soon…

How can I save Him?

I really wish I could.

Oh, and this kind of findings aren’t helping:

According to a study by Paul Bell, published in the Mensa Magazine in 2002, there is an inverse correlation between religiosity and intelligence. Analyzing 43 studies carried out since 1927, Bell found that all but four reported such a connection, and he concluded that “the higher one’s intelligence or education level, the less one is likely to be religious or hold ‘beliefs’ of any kind.” A survey published in Nature in 1998 confirms that belief in a personal God or afterlife is at an all time low among the members of the National Academy of Science, only 7.0% of which believed in a personal God as compared to more than 85% of the US general population.[1]

Hekanibru

3 pensamientos en “Saving the Savior

  1. I have to say that this result is rather surprising to me. I wouldn’t say the correlation is between religiosity and <>intelligence<>, but rather religiosity and <>education<> (and by education, I mean <>real<> education: not core data, but the ability to criticize). This explains the fact that not many scientists are religious. But between the “other people” I have to say that there must be lots of intelligent people, which simply have been “brainwashed” in some sense.Of course, this is just my opinion, and I have no studies to back this up :D

  2. I agree with you Rafa, for this study focuses on education as opposed to intelligence. After all, measuring intelligence is something that not even many of the most intelligent people on Earth know how to do.Moreover, as you say, I believe there are many intelligent people (whatever that means) that lack a proper education, which prevents them from being as critic as others, possibly less intelligent, but more educated.An unavoidable question arises now my friend; as an intelligent, educated person, what do you believe?

  3. Oh, you flatter me with that “intelligent, educated person thing”, so now I feel the urge to answer you.So… I believe that we all have beliefs (in one way or another), but more critical people are more inclined to “revise” their beliefs in the presence of better evidence to do so, while others tend to enjoy the confort of displace anything that might stumble theirs.

¡Coméntele!

